top of page

How Norway stole my heart <3

For years I was brought up hearing amazing stories from my Mom and Gran about their trips to Norway, watching old slides of pictures on cold winter nights. Most festive occasions were celebrated with a traditional Norwegian touch and of cause my Gran teaching us phrases in Norwegian - as always not necessarily ones you want to blurt out to actual Norwegians :) So when my mom suggested we spend some time there while they were visiting, my heart filled with joy! It was beyond special to not only experience Norway myself, but to share the time with my Mom and Dad.

We decided to spend our week in Bergen, as it had been one of my Mom's favorite places during her travels. I won't lie, but the trip did not get off to the best start ! We landed in one of their firsts snow storms for the year, and I then had to drive to our Air BnB ... on the Left side of the car .. on the Right hand side of the road ... needless to say by heart skipped a few beats! We also had to concur a rather narrow, steep and turny road to reach our BnB - which despite all the stress was TOTALLY worth it. The BnB was perfectly positioned with amazing view of Bergen.

On Our first day, we headed down into the center to explore, we walked down through the main streets and 'high streets' towards the Bryggen ( meaning wharf) which was the main trade site in the 13/14th centuries. It's main attraction sis the Hanseatic Buildings along the the eastern side. Sadly over the years there has been several fires, so only a few of the remaining houses still stand. You can spend all day walking between all the houses and in between, which are filled with shop and pubs, as well as visiting the Hanseatic museum.

Our Second day we spent joining the 'Norway in a Nutshell' tour. The Tour starts on the Bergen scenic Railway which takes you a the town of Voss, where you then take a bus through some quint villages to Gudvangen. The journey is amazing, with beautiful views of the countryside - which was full of the freshest snow! In Gudvangen you are met with the BEST view at the start of the Nærøyfjorden. The only downside side to the train/bus ride is that it is super difficult to get good photos while your'e moving!

From here you take a two hour ferry ride up the Nærøyfjorden which is one of the narrowest fjords in Europe, after which you meet up with the Aurlandsfjord - a branch off the Sognefjord, the world's longest fjord, where the magnificent, breathtaking views continue! It was by far my favorite part of the tour! Although it was freezing our on the deck, I just couldn't miss a moment of how spectacular it was! I totally recommend a trip up the fjords!

The ferry ride ends in the small village of Flåm, where you take the Flåm Railway, which is known as the 'world's most beautiful railway' . The Railway provides the most amazing panoramic views of the mountain side. It is well known not only due to the spectacular views, but as one of the steepest railways. The railway goes between Flåm and Myrdal. Along the way, the views are as they advertise - BEAUTIFUL and full of history, one can still see the carriage track they built while building the railway - which as 18 Hair-bend turns in it! It also passes past a waterfall where you can get out and have a closer look! As it was winter, it was all frozen, but no less beautiful! Although I am definitely returning in the summer. The journey ends at the top in Myrdal, where you then catch a train back into Bergen.

One thing we didn't do to much of was eat out - as you know Norway is a bit expensive so we saved where we could! Growing up, one of the tradiational things we woudl have is Norwegian Rice Pudding, amazing around a fire on a cold winters night, but also a traditional starter at Christmas! SO naturally we had to have some!

Another story I heard over and over from my parents, is how amazing it is to ski! So naturally I needed to try this! So my Dad and I headed out to the Voss ski Resort the next day! There is something super exciting about heading down to the train station in ski gear, surrounded by all the locals heading out to do the same thing! It sort of like a Saturday morning surf session .. just in the freezing cold snow! Been a bit of a novice at skiing I spent the day on the baby slops getting the hang of it! Luckily for me my dad was super patient and a great teacher! We definitely wished we had more than one day, but its was a good start!

For our last day, we took a trip on the funicular to the top of Mount Fløyen. Where once again we had the most amazing views! We were blessed by amazing blue skies and crisp fresh air. We spent the morning walking, which at the top I could have done all day! There is a dam that is only a few minutes walk from the funicular - best view! And I can only imagine to be a perfect picnic/braai spot in the summer! It reminded me a lot of back home where you can just spend hours out in the mountains just walking and taking in God's amazing creation!

Our trip to Norway, was one of the few definite highlights in life! And what made it extra special to share it with my parents! Its the amazing mix of city and nature that wins my heart and reminds me of the beautiful Cape Town, if I could move there tomorrow - I would :) But for now more trips are definitely on the cards!

For more pictures of Bergen - https://goo.gl/photos/CcjJY67GbgGzF4Dz5


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page