top of page

Bath

On a rainy Sunday I decided to take a trip to Bath for some exploring.

It was a long 2.5 hour drive ( and nerve racking - been a new a driver in the

UK who hadn't quite mastered the art of the 'roundabout'), I had not done much planning, and sort of planned on just going with the flow and a bit of

pinterest inspiration!

Bath is a very historic city, founded by the Roman's and the main city built around the famous Roman Baths back in AD 43. It is situated South-West in Somerset, and runs through the valley of the river Avon.

My first stop was the Guidhall Market situated on the high street, started in 1284. The market has a great selection of both cafe's , fresh produce and gifts.

Further down the road I came across Pulteney Bridge, built in 1769 has a beautiful view of bath and the horse-shaped weir. Each side has several shops and cafe's that provide a great view.

Pulteney Bridge

Although it was raining, and not the warmest weather, the views and Georgian architecture were spectacular! Thanks to my pinterest inspiration, I took a walk down the river Avon towards Alexandra Park, where I climbed 112 steps through the forest-like park. It was really great to get out the city for a bit and just be surrounded by the birds and the bees. I didn't quite come prepared for the steep climb, but the view was definitely worth every step!

I won't lie, I didn't plan my trip very well, as once I reached the south side

for this great view, I realized I needed to walk all the back through town to see all the other famous historic landmarks! ( My feet were not yet used to all the walking ). I made my way back through town up the high street and stopped off at the Bath Abbey, which dates back to 1499 and marks the centre of town. It has absolutely amazing detailed cared into every area, which always leaves me in awe thinking how much work must have

been put in!

Further up through town I cam across " the Circus" which is basically a circle of houses ( making a photo really difficult) designed by John Wood in 1754. Its a historic collection of houses/flats with about 500 individual carvings. It surrounds a beautiful central park with trees dating back to the 1800's and a historic well.

It is closely linked to the "Royal Crescent' which is only a few minutes walk away as it is said to be representative of the sun and moon

The Royal Crescent was completed in 1767 and over looks Victoria Park, and also has great views over the city. It is absolutely breathtaking and a definite must see!

And of course, Bath has many amazing and adorable looking coffee shops and cafe's that I just HAD to try one! So I stopped off the the @societycafe for my caffeine fix ( which was definitely a winner) and a delicious brownie before the long drive back home!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page